Blogging Topics – General or Focused for More Traffic?

People start blogs for various reasons and there are really no right or wrong answers on what the topic should be. Although many businesses start blogs for marketing purposes, starting a blog should be a fun and personal endeavor to express your opinions on a particular subject. Soulmete

I have started plenty of blogs and most have been very focused on one topic. Staying focused on one topic has many benefits. If the topic revolves around something you’re passionate about, it can be easy to write and keep the blog up to date. It also makes you an expert on that subject. In turn, you can develop a huge following of fans who enjoy the same topic and like what you have to say about it.

The downside is that it also has the potential of becoming boring. Depending on the topic, it may be difficult to constantly come up with new and interesting information.

I am just now experimenting with writing on a more generalized blog. So far it has been a lot of fun because I can write about whatever topic comes to mind. Unlike my more focused fitness blog where I often feel like I’m burned out on the subject.

Although my general blog is new, I do believe that the traffic potential will be much greater than my focused blog. This is because with the various subjects I write about, many more of them are bound to get ranked well as compared to the similar topics on my other blog. Think about high-traffic sites like article marketing directories. There are tons of articles on various subjects, thus bringing a huge amount of traffic.

Both types of blogs can generate tons of traffic but if you enjoy variety and don’t want to feel limited to one topic, I’d suggest starting off with a more general blog first. At least you will get the hang of maintaining a blog and you’ll also figure out what you enjoy writing about most. If you already have a blog, start a blog that is the opposite of what you write on now.

If the topic is focused, create a general blog and vice-versa. One thing I’ve done is waste time and money creating blogs on topics I was interested in at the moment. I’d lose interest in the topic and I’d end up closing down the blog and not renewing the domain name. Keep in mind that any blog you start takes commitment. If you lose interest, so will your readers and traffic will fade.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *